About Us

AECOS is a truly progressive organization that fosters communication and cooperation between leading anterior segment surgeons, ophthalmic industry executives, select venture capitalists, and technology entrepreneurs. Originally established in 2011 as a congress of American thought leaders, the Society expanded in 2012 to become The American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgery®. In 2013, the Society formalized its expansion by creating an American Executive Committee and a European Executive Committee – each chartered to drive the mission and vision of AECOS. Today, this prestigious Society remains dedicated to advancing vision care and improving patients' quality of life through Innovation, Education and Advocacy.

As a non-profit 501(c)(6) ophthalmic Society, AECOS in its first year initiated sponsorship of an important FDA investigational study focused on corneal cross-linking. AECOS also participated with industry and CMS in the development of guidance on Laser Refractive Cataract Surgery. These guidelines that were published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in November 2012. As a Society, AECOS is an advocate for quality patient care, and serves as an active member of the FDA/CDRH Network of Experts.

AECOS is a member of the American Refractive Surgery Council, an organization that harnesses the country's leading clinical and technology expertise and develops educational and informative programs and content for consumers considering their vision correction options.

AECOS Administrative Team

Trudy Larkins
Executive Director
Heather Heenan
Director, Membership and Meeting Services

AECOS American Executive Committee

John F. Doane, MD
Leawood, Kansas
William B. Trattler, MD
Miami, Florida
Laurent Attias
Ft. Worth, Texas
J. Andy Corley
Irvine, California
David A. Cox
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Steven J. Dell, MD
Austin, Texas
Eric D. Donnenfeld, MD
Long Island, New York
Thomas G. Frinzi
Aliso Viejo, California
Adam Krafczek, Jr, Esq
Wayne, Pennsylvania
William J. Link, PhD
San Francisco, California
Robert K. Maloney, MD
Los Angeles, California
Stephen G. Slade, MD
Houston, Texas
Kerry D. Solomon, MD
Charleston, South Carolina
Steven D. Vold, MD
Fayetteville, Arkansas
John A. Vukich, MD
Chairman of the Board
Madison, Wisconsin
George Waring IV, MD
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Eric Weinberg
Del Mar, California
William Wiley, MD
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Elizabeth Yeu, MD
Norfolk, Virginia

AECOS European Executive Committee

H. Burkhard Dick, MD
Bochum, Germany
Erik L. Mertens, MD
Antwerp, Belgium
Jorge L. Alio, MD
Alicante, Spain
Hans Blickensdoerfer, MD
Bern, Switzerland
Lucio Buratto, MD
Milan, Italy
Arthur B. Cummings, MD
Dublin, Ireland
Sheraz M. Daya, MD
East Grinstead, Englad
Kristian Hohla, PhD
Munich, Germany
A. John Kanellopoulos, MD
Athens, Greece
Prof. Michael C. Knorz, MD
Mannheim, Germany
Samuel Levinger, MD
Jerusalem, Israel
John Marshall, PhD
London, England
Dirk Muehlhoff
Jena, Germany
Tobias H. Neuhann, MD
Munich, Germany
Dan Reinstein, MD
London, England
Rolf Schwind
Kleinostheim, Germany
Pavel Stodulka, MD
Prague, Czech Republic